Austinburg Township

Zoning Commission Minutes **June 5, 2024**

Members:

David Gottwig, Chair Also Present:

Laurie Robishaw, Vice-Chair

Clare Polak

Phil Miller

Byron Dutton, Trustee Liaison

Sarah Frank, Zoning Secretary

Rob LaPuh, Zoning Administrator

Shara Parkomaki (absent)

Chair opened the meeting at 6:14pm. Chair requested roll call attendance:

Clare - Present Shara - Not Present David - Present

Laurie - Present Phil - Present

Laurie motioned to approve minutes of the May 1, 2024, regularly-scheduled meeting; Clare seconded; Phil and Clare abstained. All others present voted aye. *Minutes approved*.

Laurie motioned to approve minutes of the May 1, 2024, Public Hearing; David seconded; Clare abstained. All others present voted aye. *Minutes approved*.

Laurie asked members for any objections to submitting the proposed amendment as written to trustees. Chair reviewed 5/31/24 email from Jake Brand, Director, Ashtabula County Department of Planning and Development, offering technical assistance. Chair offered to write a response; members agreed to review. Laurie felt that County Planning Commission was not aware of full intent of the creation of the overlay, including to prevent sprawl, contain growth, and to protect property owners on the outlying parcels; Clare agreed.

Laurie motioned to submit the same proposed changes sent to the County Planning Commission to the Township Trustees, with the exception of the selection of the "Alternative Basic Map" as a supplemental figure; Clare seconded. Chair requested roll call vote:

Clare - Aye Shara - Not Present David - Aye

Laurie - Aye Phil - Aye

Commission reviewed Northeast Ohio 2024 Planning & Zoning Workshop on June 28, 2024. Laurie requested to share materials from her attendance at the 2023 workshop. Commission discussed solar panels and tiny houses. Commission agreed to keep the next regularly-scheduled meeting on July 3 at 5:00pm.

Laurie motioned to adjourn; Phil seconded. All present voted aye. *Meeting adjourned at* 7:05pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Sarah Frank

Sarah Frank, Secretary